Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190 – Australia PR)

Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190 - Australia PR)

The Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) is an Australian visa for skilled workers who want to live and work in Australia and have been nominated by an Australian state or territory government agency. But it’s not just for anyone; you need to be skilled in an occupation that Australia wants. To apply, you have to be nominated by an Australian state or territory government. They essentially say, “Hey, we want you to come work for us!”.

Here are some key details about this visa:

  1. Purpose: It’s designed for individuals who possess specific skills that are in demand in Australia’s labor market.
  2. Nomination: To apply for this visa, you must be nominated by an Australian state or territory government agency.
  3. Points-Based System: The visa operates on a points-test system. Points are awarded based on factors such as age, English language proficiency, skilled employment, qualifications, and more.
  4. Eligibility: To qualify, you’ll need to earn a certain number of points based on your age, qualifications, work experience, and more. The higher your score, the better your chances. Here are some details:
    • Have an occupation on the relevant list of skilled occupations.
    • Be under 45 years of age at the time of invitation.
    • Have a suitable skills assessment for the occupation.
    • Be invited to apply.
    • Score at least 65 points on the points-test (though in competitive fields or locations, a higher score may be needed).
  5. Visa Length: Once granted, the Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) provides the visa holder with permanent residency. This means the holder can:
    • Stay in Australia indefinitely.
    • Work and study in Australia.
    • Enroll in Medicare, Australia’s public health care scheme.
    • Travel to and from Australia for five years from the date the visa is granted.
    • Apply for Australian citizenship once eligibility requirements are met.
  6. Commitment: If you are granted this visa, you must live and work in the nominating state or territory for at least two years.
  7. Family Members: You can include family members in your application, including your partner, and dependent children.It’s a fair trade-off for the opportunity to call Australia your new home.
  8. Application Process:
    • Expression of Interest: First, you must submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect. This is an online system used to process and select applicants for skilled migration.
    • State or Territory Nomination: If a state or territory government nominates you, you’ll receive an invitation to apply for the visa.
    • Visa Application: Once invited, you can lodge your visa application online.

It’s crucial to stay updated with the official Department of Home Affairs website or consult with a registered migration agent for the latest information and detailed guidance, as visa regulations and criteria can change.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *